I see signs.

I have an unnatural obsession with signs. Don’t know where it came from, I just know I do.

Maracas Bay Beach Trinidad

Snapped this one outside a bake and shark vendor at Maracas Beach..

(For those of you who don’t know, Stag and Carib are both local Trinidadian beers. Bake and Shark is pretty self explanatory. Aloo means potato in Hindi, so an Aloo pie is a potato pie. :))

**Update: My Mom wasn’t satisfied with my “self explanatory” description of Bake and Shark..I guess I was saving my full “Bake and Shark” description for a post on the experience that is Maracas Beach. Buuuuut she beat me to it. Here is what she had to say:

“I beg to disagree with you on your observation that “Bake and Shark is pretty self explanatory”. I am sure that many of your foreign readers will not be aware that some varieties of shark (yes, the scary fish) are actually delicious when you know how to prepare them. This is a culinary delight in Trinidad and it was once featured on the Food Network as one of the top 10 snack foods in the world!!! It is usually served in a sandwich format with a type of fried dough that is locally called “bake”, although it is not baked at all. Go figure. It is “to die for” and a MUST for every Trinidadian who returns home for a holiday. Yummy … my mouth is watering just to think about it!”

So..there ya go!

And while we’re at it, I might as well show you what this famed Bake and Shark looks like!

Bake and Shark Trinidad

yummm!


11 Comments

Filed under I see signs

11 responses to “I see signs.

  1. Mom

    I beg to disagree with you on your observation that “Bake and Shark is pretty self explanatory”. I am sure that many of your foreign readers will not be aware that some varieties of shark (yes, the scary fish) are actually delicious when you know how to prepare them. This is a culinary delight in Trinidad and it was once featured on the Food Network as one of the top 10 snack foods in the world!!! It is usually served in a sandwich format with a type of fried dough that is locally called “bake”, although it is not baked at all. Go figure. It is “to die for” and a MUST for every Trinidadian who returns home for a holiday. Yummy … my mouth is watering just to think about it!

    • aaaaaaand THAT is why I love you Mom. You put me in my place with that one! I should’ve given a more informative description. !! You are right! 🙂 Thank you! Actually, I’m going to add your description to my post!

  2. Your mom is right! I had no idea what you meant by Bake and Shark.

    • Yeah i failed majorly on that one! I need to remember that just because these things are familiar to me, doesn’t mean they are familiar to everyone! Won’t happen again! 🙂 More descriptive descriptions are in order!

  3. Henri

    Nice. Reminds me of the meat pie snacks the russians eat in moscow with beer and vodka. Also fried, half-moon style. They just don’t have shark there. Me, I like shark. I just hope that the shark (white variety) won’t like me…

    • Chances are they will like you! 🙂 I want to go to Moscow!! It was on my “list of places to travel in 2012” if I was still living in Beirut. But now that I’m in the Caribbean, it’s a little out of the way! One day though, one day..

  4. Congrats on the new blog! 🙂

  5. I don’t think I’ve ever thought of eating a shark before.. “eat” and “shark” would be used in the same sentence if it were “a shark might eat me”… not I might eat a shart 😛
    But sounds and looks kinda good, I would try it if I were to ever go to Trinidad or some place where they make yummy shark 🙂

  6. Hahaha there was an episode of Bizarre Foods on Trinidad and my dad always talks about how he wants to go there one day just to try the bake and shark! Good to see your back to blogging 🙂

  7. detrini

    That Bake and Shark missing something man! Where are the toppings? LOL Thanks for making me hungry though.

Leave a comment!

