I’m Santana B*tch!

I’ve had a thing for puppets ever since I discovered Jeff Dunham a couple of years back..

and it was only recently that I found Trinidad had a puppet series of its own – Santana – created by Roger Alexis… One of my colleagues at work has the Narine ‘making love’ ringtone on her phone (when it comes to making love i is d bessss lol) and when I asked her about it, she said, “You doh know Santana? Where yuh been living girl?”

Obviously, under a rock.

source

The popular puppet short film series, Santana, became an instant Internet sensation two years ago, appealing to viewers across the globe. source What started as a sock with some holes in it and a friend’s video camera, quickly grew into the  Santana series as people couldn’t get enough of Alexis’ work. To perfect his craft, Alexis went to UWI at the age of 35 where he did a bachelors degree in Film Production. In an interview by Outlish Magazine, Alexis had this to say, “In the past people would tell me I’s a black boy. Film in the past was for de white boys. I see myself as a human being. I do all the tings I like to do. I scuba dive. I like hiking. I like outdoor stuff. I love filmmaking. So I do it.” To read the entire interview on Alexis, click here.

I haven’t watched all of the videos..but I think Sookdeo is my favorite character so far. He’s such a badass!

Sookdeo Santana

My boy Sookdeo

source

Don’t know why he isn’t on the character list on the  lexo.tv website..!!

source

And last week, Alexis had the premier of his first movie based on the series of Santana short films! Congrats Roger..that’s huge.

source

According to an article in the Guardian, Alexis is “the next big thing in the local film industry after proving himself with his first movie. Last Wednesday evening, media and fans got the chance to view the highly-anticipated premiere at Caribbean Cinemas 8, Trincity Mall, Trincity. Three earlier screenings of the movie that day were sold out. From the time the show began, laughter erupted from members of the audience, who were clearly familiar with all the characters, as they shouted out things like: “Buh what happen to Narine. He real dottish eh?”and “Ogosh, Patsy yuh bad girl!”

So yeah,, as part of my ‘cultural education’ I have enlisted a couple of friends and colleagues to join me in watching the “I’m Santana” movie sometime this week!

Bulletin! As I was writing this my colleauge came in my office to tell me that MovieTowne (one of the biggest entertainment/cinemas in the Caribbean)  has refused to screen the “I’m Santana” movie. I can’t find an official statement by MovieTowne explaining why they chose to adopt this stance..but it’s a sad day indeed when a Caribbean cinema chain chooses to screen international blockbusters instead of supporting local talent! SMFH!

MovieTowne refuses to screen Santana

Some of the Santana characters take a picture in front of MovieTowne in protest.

source

And lexo.tv Facebook fans are disgusted at MovieTowne’s actions..and rightly so!

I share their sentiments..It's incredible that the media hasn't picked this up already..I wonder why??!!!

“I’m Santana” is showing at the Digicel IMAX Theatre and Caribbean Cinemas 8..for showtimes click here and here.

Support the local film industry and go and see it!

11 Comments

Filed under Life in Trinidad

11 responses to “I’m Santana B*tch!

  1. i support our local industry and i have not one problem with MovieTowne choosing to pass on this…

    i taking a pass on it as well…

    • Maybe you could explain why you feel that way? I’m curious to know..

      • well QD have some nice comments… kudos…

        Puppet Violence… is one issue… in our immature society anything that isnt a real person is fit for children’s consumption… “iz a cartoon”… no it isnt… its grown folk business… the Santana ‘female dog’ tag line is another problem i have… “key key key” everybody laughs when the children say it… and if anyone tells me that this isnt marketed to kids they lie… domestic violence… unwantan cuss words… fornication… that is the history of the Santana series…

        i can support local if i believe it is positive in its influence… sadly i dont believe this to be the case when it comes to Santana and his band of puppets…

        i give all the praise to LEXO and what he has attempted… but maintain that any establishment has the right to refuse anyone/anything… just give the reason for such so i’ll know if to patronize or not… based on my belief system/structure…

        apologies if my dialect writing confuses you

    • sandman, i think yuh comments about the violence and the obscene language as it impacts on children is an issue with regards to the movie town scene. ah just guessin, but ah could see certain people there sayin they doh want to support that. which… meh… a lil on de hypocritical side fuh me because is not like the other stuff they feature is spotless. at least, if it is, i didn’t notice that it is squeaky clean. but i think dat is part. however, daz jus me speculating. movie towne makin enough money to throw the other cinemas a bone and bow out of showing this one ah guess.

  2. santana shorts have their moments. i wouldn’t go see it in cinema though. i enjoyed some of the clips on youtube, but i wouldn’t sit through an entire movie of it.

    ah think movie towne not obligated to show local movies because they local. that being said, i would like to hear a statement as to why they not showing it though. not that they have to justify anything to anybody… but i would like to know instead of speculating. because ah have muh conclusions to draw about dat ish.

    i also wonder if they showing it in globe? if not, why not? ah think it should go both ways as well. just sayin, if i do a movie it will primer at glob for a full week before any other cinema. if it still open dat is.

  3. buh really though… if something wrong wid de movie or it not meeting some sort of standard, a lil feedback might help so lexo and anybody else lookin to head dat route could look out fuh dem tings in the future. ah goin an hunt movie towne an find out.

  4. oh yeah… ah fuhgot to mention that i support the local film industry and have been involved in local productions. bandi above there can say the same.

  5. You got some weird priests down there girl..

  6. I support the local movie and puppet industry. I didn’t see the movie since I hardly ever sees a movie outside Movietowne or megaupload – 🙂 If the movie is promoting poor values such as domestic violence, then I will not have Santana on my list. If however, the movie uses domestic violence and cussing up people in a statement against these things and not for entertainment, then I will support it. But as best as I know, the impressionable youth are Santana’s greatest fans.

    • thus far, the series hasn’t shown any signs of sharing any moral lessons. i would be shocked if the characters suddenly become representatives for good values on the silver screen.

      i hear yuh on the megaupload though. torrentbutler, eztv and isohunt too!!

  7. ateshbaboolal

    dis real baaaaaad. i like it but it has parts that cant b shown just 2 any audience

Leave a comment!

